Stages of Labor

Stages of Labor

If you’re feeling a bit anxious about giving birth, there are things you can do that may help. For example, knowing what is going to happen during your birth.

Let me explain you a little bit more about Stages of labor


You can have some contractions known as Braxton-Hicks, they can be painful but they are not regular and you are not in labor!

In the late pregnancy stage you cervix will become thinner to get ready for your labor.

Usually the hospital will not accept you until you are dilated 3 cm or more.

First Stage of Labor

The cervix thins and dilates until it reaches 10 cm.

3-5 cm. Early labor

5-8 cm. Active Labor

8-10 cm. Transition

Second stage of Labor

This stage is known as the pushing phase. You are already 10 cm dilated and your baby is going to born. Firstly, the baby needs to descend through the pelvis.

You will feel the urge to push during contractions until your baby is born.

Third stage of Labor

After the baby is born, you continue to have contractions to deliver the placenta.

Fourth Stage

The two hours after birth is when breastfeeding can be established. Contractions continues so the uterus will shrink

No Comments

Post A Comment